Royal Society Prize for Science Books

E’ stata pubblicata la lista dei 13 titoli selezionati per il 2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books il concorso annuale della Royal Society britannica che premia il miglior libro scientifico.

La lista dei sei finalisti sarà pubblicata il 25 giugno prossimo mentre il vincitore sarà annunciato il 15 settembre 2009.

La lista dei titoli ammessi:

Bad science by Ben Goldacre, published by Fourth Estate

Decoding the heavens: Solving the mystery of the world’s first computer by Jo Marchant, published by William Heinemann

Ice, mud and blood: Lessons from climates past by Chris Turney, published by Palgrave Macmillan

Living with Enza: The forgotten story of Britain and the great flu pandemic of 1918 by Mark Honigsbaum, published by Palgrave Macmillan

Microcosm: E. coli and the new science of life by Carl Zimmer, published by William Heinemann

Physics for future presidents: The science behind the headlines by Richard A Muller, published by WW Norton

Quantum: Einstein. Bohr and the great debate about the nature of reality by Manjit Kumar, published by Icon Books

Strange fruit: Why both sides are wrong in the race debate by Kenan Malik, published by Oneworld Publications

The age of wonder: How the Romantic generation discovered the beauty and terror of science by Richard Holmes, published by HARPERPRESS

The drunkard’s walk: How randomness rules our lives by Leonard Mlodinow, published by Allen Lane, Penguin Press

The universe in a mirror : The saga of the Hubble Space Telescope and the visionaries who built it by Robert Zimmerman, published by Princeton University Press

What the nose knows: The science of scent in everyday life by Avery Gilbert, published by Crown Publishers

Your inner fish: The amazing discovery of our 375-million-year-old ancestor by Neil Shubin, published by Allen Lane, Penguin Press

Fonte: The Royal Society, 26 May 2009.

Comprali su!

%d blogger hanno fatto clic su Mi Piace per questo: